The µBipedino(TM) robot kit


A couple of weeks ago I saw a nice video of kids playing with a tiny biped robot made by Easybotics. I contacted the owner and asked if I could create a similar robot based on an ATmega328 microcontroller that can be programmed in Arduino IDE, either directly in C, or, by using the ArduBlock tool, in a graphical manner, connecting blocks to write the program. He responded quickly saying that he has no problem with that, in fact, we could collaborate to build an Arduino compatible robot. After exchanging design ideas, we decided to go separate ways, as I wanted a simple robot board kit to be assembled by the customer or bought already ready assembled, and he wanted a more sophisticated board with a built in USB port and SMD parts. I started to prototype a robot and design the main board and today I have it ready for demos.

But first, let me introduce the µBipedino(TM) (pronounced micro-Biped-eeno) robot to you:

  • micro-biped using 2 servos per leg for walking and dancing
  • ATmega328 microcontroller at 3.3V, 8MHz with Arduino bootloader
  • runs on a 3.6V LiIon battery
  • built in charger with charging status LED (MAX1555)
  • high side switch to enable the power to the servos by the microcontroller
  • On/Off power switch with power status LED
  • dual IR proximity sensor (38kHz) to detect objects on the Left/Right/Center
  • trim-pots to adjust the IR LEDs light emitting level
  • removable head board with built in Buzzer and dual RGB LEDs
  • 4 extra connections for additional servos or sensors
  • programmable start/select button
  • keyed FTDI cable connector  for programming
  • board size: 5x5cm (2×2″)
  • robot size: 6x6x10.5cm (2.5×2.5×4″)

Want to see it? Here are the pictures:

  

  

   

And the schematic and the PCB design:

I expect to have kits in the store sometime mid-January, perhaps even sooner if all works well.

Oh, yeah, want to see it in action? There you go:

 

About Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X)

Robots, nature, bees, and gardening, how do they mix together? After too much indoor activities one needs to get out and breathe! Harvest natural energy and create a little paradise. And ask the robots to help, of course.
This entry was posted in uBipedino and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The µBipedino(TM) robot kit

  1. Michel says:

    WOW Fantastic !!!!

    Michel
    Canadian Robot

  2. Martin says:

    Hi, it is possible somewhere order PCB for µBipedino conformably to revision reffered – to here?

  3. Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X) says:

    Hmm… Why not? I’ve made 10 boards and used only half of them. Then I did not have time to work on robots anymore, so they are sitting on my shelf. I guess I can sell a pair of boards (one main PCB plus one Bart Head PCB). I don’t have any extra parts left, so you’ll have to use the values in the schematic to order them from Digikey or Mouser. The cost for a pair is $5 plus shipping. I can send you a Paypal request if you agree.

  4. Jim D Martin says:

    Is it possible to obtain a copy of the arduino code that you used for this little bot?

    • Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X) says:

      Of course! The code is not completed, I still need to sort out a few things to make it public, but if you want, I can send you a copy of the code. Feel free to modify and adapt it and send me back a copy when you’re done tweaking it.
      Thanks!

  5. Jim D Martin says:

    Thanks for the code, but I have a question. Are all three .ino files combined into a single sketch? I’m trying to follow the code, but I don’t see where you are calling any walk routines and so on. FYI, I’m using version 1.0 of the IDE….
    thanks…

    • Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X) says:

      You open the uBipedino file and the others will appear as different tabs. The walk routines are called from the main file but they are described in the other tabs.

      • Jim D Martin says:

        Ah, ok….been awhile since I did any Arduino programming…..didn’t know you could have multiple files contained within a single sketch…..I don’t think you could do that a year or so ago, with the earlier versions of the IDE…

  6. Jim D Martin says:

    Can you tell me how you are using digital pin 12 to enable the power to your servos? I know you use a custom pcb, but I’m not exactly sure how you are applying and removing power. I am building this using an Arduino Duemilanove / ATmega328….do you see this as being a problem? I will probably use on of the RBBB boards from Modern Device, as I have quite a few of them already built.

    • Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X) says:

      If you look at the schematic, you’ll see the RT9701 part that is an electronic switch, enabled by the D12 pin. I used this to be able to cut power to the servos if the robot will stand still to save battery power. Also allows me to send pulses to the servos and then apply power to them to minimize the jerk at start up.

  7. Álvaro says:

    Hi Gabriel,

    I would like to have a copy of the code to learn how it works. I´m going to start building a biped robot the next week on class and I need to know how can I start.

    Thanks.

  8. Ian Lewis says:

    Hi Gabriel

    Any of those boards left? I’d really like a play with this…

    Ian

    • Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X) says:

      Hi Ian, I still have a few boards left. I also got all the parts for the kits, minus the USB-serial programming cable. Let me know what you need. Unfortunately I had a hdd crash and lost all of my files and I’m trying to recuperate. I have the pictures but not the assembly manual which was not finished so I didn’t have a chance to pdf it and upload it to my site. If you think you can work it out from the schematic and the assembly pictures, you’re more than welcome to try.

      • Ian Lewis says:

        Hi Gabriel

        I tried to mail directly, but I guess you never got it.. If you pm me, I’ll give you my full address in London and I can pay for the kit and delivery via paypal?

        Thanks
        Ian

Leave a Reply

