MiniEric robot


I don’t know if I have told you about this idea… I will build a smaller version of the butler robot. I’ll try to make it look and do most of the things I want the bigger version to do. I will use the Roboduino microcontroller for this robot, so big Eric will not have it this time. Maybe latter…

I am going to use 10 servos on MiniEric, 2 of them being reduced to DC motors with built in encoders or if I’ll have time, I’ll upgrade them as I2C smart servos.  Oh well… here’s a list with all the parts in the robot:

  • 2 standard servos SG5010 modiffied, with a built in encoder, for driving
  • 2 micro servos HXT900 for a pan/tilt head
  • 2 micro servos HXT900 for the arms (claw)
  • 2 mini servos VS-3 for the shoulders
  • 1 standard servo GWS S03N for torso
  • 1 micro servo HXT900 for scanning sensor
  • 1 Sharp IR sensor GP2D12 mounted on the scanning servo
  • 1 Parallax Ping))) ultrasonic sensor mouted on the head
  • 1 AVRcam mounted on the head
  • bumper sensors mounted on the base
  • touch sensors mounted on the arms
  • serial LCD
  • Bluetooth radio modem (optional)
  • Text-to-Speech chip
  • PIR sensor for human presence detection
  • a compass sensor (I2C interface)
  • Roboduino controller as the brain

As complex as it sounds, the mechanical and electronical parts are easy to do. The only complex part is the software. Hmm… Should I use more than one microcontroller? We’ll see…

Other things I want to tackle are a charging station and a charging monitor module. I am still debating what is the best way to do this, but I know for sure I want the robot to function as much as possible between charges and have fast charges.

That’s it for now, I should make some sketches for you to see… soon!

About Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X)

Robots, nature, bees, and gardening, how do they mix together? After too much indoor activities one needs to get out and breathe! Harvest natural energy and create a little paradise. And ask the robots to help, of course.
This entry was posted in Eric, the butler robot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MiniEric robot

  1. Denis says:

    In your parts list for your MiniEric robot you have the 2 first servo and say they are modified with built in encoders. How do you build in the encoder? Is there a tutorial on it?

    Denis
    (From the buildfest)

    • Ro-Bot-X says:

      Hi Denis,

      Indeed I wanted to modify the continuous rotation servos and remove the electronics, replace them with a proto board that would have had a ATtiny45, a FAN8082 dual H-bridge and an IR quadrature encoder. I gave up this idea because the servos are way too noisy for my taste. If the robot would have roamed around all day long I would have had a headache from the motor’s noise. So, I replaced the servos with 2 Faulhaber geared motors with built in encoders.

      If you want to build encoders inside the servo, take a look at this page:
      Quadrature encoders inside a servo

Leave a Reply

