Wrong use of Arduino name


I was told that the Arduino name is trademarked so I can’t use it without paying a license and have the written approval from the Arduino team. I mistakenly thought that if the word Arduino is used in conjunction with other words is ok. So I have changed the name of the board to Robot Builder’s R-duino. I will order new boards with this name and also with a few other improvements in the following week. Until I get them in stock, no kit will be sold that contains boards that wrongfully use the Arduino name.

Apologies to the Arduino team and thanks for understanding.

About Gabriel (Ro-Bot-X)

Robots, nature, bees, and gardening, how do they mix together? After too much indoor activities one needs to get out and breathe! Harvest natural energy and create a little paradise. And ask the robots to help, of course.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wrong use of Arduino name

  1. Carl says:

    With a nice sharp xacto knife you can carefully scratch off the silkscreened “A” from Arduino on the board without harming the solder mask.

    • Ro-Bot-X says:

      Yeah, I thought of such a solution, but I am also improving the design a bit. I added a jumper shunt to disable the motors power while programming, added a 3.3V regulator, made some room for a smaller height but larger diameter capacitors so they fit under a shield. I am looking into changing the power switch with a 90 degree one that also has better amp rating. This way one can mount the voltage regulator flat on top of the power switch if needed. I’ll be done with the redesign soon and I’ll place an order for another 10 boards batch. In about a month or so you should see the new boards here!

Leave a Reply

